Chasing

by ariddesert87

New York City, May 2011. That was the start of a month-long graduation trip to that most magical of cities. It was my first time traveling solo and I remember the giddy intoxication of being all alone in a foreign land. I loved being thousands of miles from home without a care in the world. Each day brought new adventures and experiences. There was a buzz and electricity in the air that spoke of endless possibilities and dreams. People, places and history blended to form indelible memories. I felt the pulse of this city, teeming with the lifeblood of its neighbourhoods and inhabitants. I felt a vibrancy and optimism that I had never felt before. It was electrifying, energizing and eye-opening, and I savoured every minute of it. Two years on I think back to that first brief taste of freedom and it feels as vivid as if it had happened yesterday. I’ve been chasing that feeling ever since and I’m going to keep looking until I find it.

 

 

