Taking Stock

by ariddesert87

Hello. It’s been nearly 4 months since my last post. I’ve neglected this blog for way too long mostly because I haven’t felt inspired enough to write, and also because I’ve been busy with work. I wonder if anyone even reads it but I started this blog as a home for my rambling thoughts, a place where I could pour out my worries, anxieties and dreary complaints when I feel that confiding in my friends just won’t do. There, it was nice to get all that out and remind myself of why this blog still exists.

A lot has happened in 4 months: I got a job as a writer for DesignTAXI where my work consists of researching and writing about art, design and culture. I can safely say that this is the first job I’ve had where I’m 100% engaged with the work. It’s interesting and challenging; I get to train my editorial and critical/analytical skills, and sharpen my writing. Over the past few months I’ve come to realize that writing is a constant work-in-progress and you’re never really ‘good’ or say you’ve ‘made it’. I finally get what A meant when he said designing is more a lifestyle than an occupation, because writing is like that too.

I jetted off to NYC in early November and spent a month during fall where it was lovely and cool. It was my third visit and I have to say the city has not lost its magic. The novelty of my first trip in 2011 has worn off a little – I’m no longer the wide-eyed tourist I was 2 years ago. With every subsequent visit I’ve grown to embrace the city wholeheartedly with its warts and imperfections. I appreciate the gritty beauty, the vibrancy and most of all the sheer aliveness and sense of possibility this place holds. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I would really love to live there someday. There was no particular urgent reason for me to go other than that it was the end of the year and I felt I needed a break from this little island. I filled my days with museums, bookshops and record stores, returned to familiar haunts, ate lots of bagels and drunk more coffee than I do here, caught a bunch of great concerts, and hung out with friends. As I wandered about the city breathing the cool air and having my hair whipped by the wind, I realized how lucky I am to be able to take off for a month.

And since it’s the end of the year, I suppose some reflection is in order. I’ve learnt some lessons along the way that were painful but necessary. I’ve had conversations with friends that were illuminating, surprising and heartening, and those are memories that I hold dear to me.

Here’s to more beautiful experiences in 2014.

IMG_20131118_165304

