So This Is The New Year

by ariddesert87

2014 is here, and I don’t feel any different. I don’t think anyone magically feels like a new person when the clock strikes midnight. Everyone is fundamentally the same person inside and change only happens gradually over time. No parties or raucous celebrations this year – I spent a quiet night at home browsing the web. I cast an occasional glance at the tv which was blaring the annual countdown party at Marina Bay. Everyone there looked like they were having a good time. I tend to stay away from such celebrations because it’s just way over the top and extravagant. I’d take a small gathering with close friends any day. This year, home was where I wanted to be.

With a new year comes a curious compulsion to resolve to “be a better person” or “lose weight”; suddenly everyone decides that this will be the year where things finally fall into place. I don’t make resolutions, I’ve never really believed in making any because no one really follows through on them. It’s more appropriate to call them goals, and there are a few I hope to see come to fruition.

This year, I want to eat healthier – I say this every year and my previous attempts have been rather lacklustre and I really want to do better this year. I want to find the strength to let go of people and things that hurt me or are out of my control; I’ve made some ill-advised decisions that caused a lot of tears and anguish and tore me up. Lastly, I want to travel more. To see new places, learn about new cultures, make new friends, and come away with beautiful memories that I will remember for a lifetime.

There are so many other things I wish and hope for. I don’t know if I’ll accomplish everything but I’m going to try my best.

