June Baby

by ariddesert87

I turned 27 last week. It was a Tuesday which meant everyone I know was at work. The night before I had a dinner with my family as it was my grandfather’s birthday too. I spent my birthday at home listening to music and talking to friends online. I met R and XA for dinner, and we went to a cute little French restaurant along Keong Saik Road called Taratata Bistrot. The food was amazing – plump and juicy half-dozen escargots in garlic herb butter, tender sea bass in lemon cream sauce, delectable, just-the-right-amount-of-sour apple tart with caramel ice cream, complemented by the fine house wines. I would eat there again in a heartbeat.

It’s been ages since I’ve seen XA – I last hung out with her in January after she got back from Japan – and it feels like an eternity has passed since R and I last met, even though it was just a few weeks ago. The three of us are doing well – caught up with work and the demands of adult life as usual, but still very much the same people we’ve always been.

Another week until I take off for Penang and I simply can’t wait. The past couple of months have been rather trying; I’ve been so tired lately and no amount of sleeping in on the weekends can rejuvenate me the way a vacation does. Six days to go, hey ho.

10413905_763018613749290_2101549566_n

 

