New Tidings

by ariddesert87

It’s been three months since my last post, and a lot has happened since then.

First things first, let’s get the four-letter word out of the way. I’m referring to workwhat were you thinking? Work has been crazy and demanding. I found myself working way past 7pm nearly every day; some nights I was churning out articles till 2 or 3 in the morning. As much as I enjoy what I do, I’m starting to feel burnt out doing the same thing every day. What I write about isn’t rocket science, it’s basically aggregating content from elsewhere on the internet and repackaging it for the readers. Working to the point of exhaustion is no fun, and having quotas to achieve just adds to the stress. I told myself I’d stay for two years and leave, and that’s still the plan.

I’m about to get even busier as I’ve just hired a new writer, or should I say young padawan, as my ex-colleague so eloquently put it. It’s been a long time coming as I’ve been looking for a candidate since last October. The hiring process has been an immensely exhaustive and frustrating one; all six or seven candidates I offered the position to turned me down, with most citing the salary as their reason for declining.

I’m more relieved than anything that I finally have someone to take under my wing, and am ready to embrace my new role as an editor. I’ll finally be able to approve and publish my own articles, as well as those of my writer, have more say in the editorial direction, and get to participate in meetings with the other editors and management. Oh, and there’s the matter of a new contract and pay rise—it’s not much but it’s still something, and I worked my butt off for it.

The long hours have been taking a toll physically and mentally; after a draining, brain-wringing five days of work, sometimes all I want to do on the weekends is to hibernate. Yet I’ve been going for events and activities like a fiend, including in order: Laneway Festival (this year’s edition was so terrible it doesn’t warrant a review), a rooftop gig (it was breezy), The Gathering at Fort Canning (it was awesome and rad and everything Laneway should’ve been but wasn’t), an open-air screening of Harold and Maude at the National Museum, and an exhibition and mini-concert celebrating 50 years of Singapore rock.

Now that I’ve gotten the mundanities of daily life off my chest, the most significant event that happened was meeting J last month. I love being with him; he’s sweet, loving, funny, easygoing and down-to-earth. It helps that we’re close in age and have similar interests and music taste. It’s early days yet, but he makes me happy and I feel very optimistic about our relationship, which is something I haven’t felt in a very long time.

I’m also hugely excited about my upcoming trip to Europe, where I’ll be spending five glorious weeks traversing countries and cities, and just luxuriating in my new surroundings without the demands of daily life bogging me down. I can’t wait to recharge and rejuvenate, and hopefully come back inspired and refreshed.

Here’s to new tidings and better days ahead.

