Cigarettes After Sex + Ulrich Schnauss / MEW @ Urbanscapes, 9 & 10 May 2017

by ariddesert87

When I heard Cigarettes After Sex were playing Urbanscapes in Kuala Lumpur but skipping Singapore, I knew I had to fly to see them. They’ve been on my radar ever since I heard their 2012 EP I and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to see them. Ulrich Schnauss got the crowd warmed up with his lush ambient electronic; I wish he was playing a solo show instead because he’s got so much material and one hour wasn’t enough.

Cigarettes After Sex came on at 10.30pm to huge cheers and screams and I have to say I’m impressed with the KL crowd – they enthusiastically belted out the words to all the songs, from the wistful ‘K’. to the dreamy ‘Affection’. The band sounded amazing just like their records, and live their smoky songs were even more intoxicating.

I caught Mew the following night and I was really there to hear their older stuff as I haven’t kept up with their releases. Their new songs sound generic and ordinary though, and just not as arresting as their earlier tracks. 1 and a half hours later and it was over and I was in a cab back to my hotel. What a whirlwind two days it’s been.

